The Sidney Prize and the Sidney Powers Memorial Awards

Sydney Prize is a scholarship given to a senior who has made a distinctive contribution to the University community. Nominations are solicited from faculty members and other students. The winner is chosen by secret ballot at the April undergraduate faculty meeting and presented with a plaque during Baccalaureate service. The Dean of Student Affairs and the Registrar announce the nomination process in early March, including a description of the qualities sought. The Dean of Students and the Registrar prepare a brief biography of each nominee which is distributed to all faculty members.

The Sydney Prize was established in honor of Professor Sidney Cox, who exerted a profound influence upon thousands of Dartmouth students, both in and out of his classes. The prize honors undergraduate writing which best meets his high standards of originality and integrity. The winner receives a cash prize of $100.

Founded in 1968, the prize is awarded to authors of outstanding scholarly books in the history of technology. The book should make a significant contribution to the understanding of some aspect of technological change, and should be distinguished by such considerations as sound scholarship, an engaging style and clear presentation. The prize is named for the Society’s founder and first president, who was an early advocate of the importance of interdisciplinary study in the field of the history of technology.

In the February Sidney Prize, Fred Clasen-Kelly and Carol Motsinger won for revealing the hidden toll of Greenville’s Unity Park project on its Black community. The deeply reported piece combines data reporting, public policy research and an investigative narrative.

The 2023 winner is Sophia Jactel of Art History for her essay on Domesticity and Diversions: Josef Israels’s Smoker as Symbol of Peasant Culture and Home in Nineteenth-Century Holland (Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture/University of North Carolina Press, 2022). The book, which was overseen by Professor Sally Cornelison, contributes to the recent exhibition Domesticities: The Art of Daily Life.

Each year, the AAPG awards the Sidney Powers Memorial Award to an individual or team that has made significant contributions to advancing petroleum geology. The award consists of a $10,000 cash prize, an engraved medallion and a certificate. The award is sponsored by the AAPG Foundation and the Charles and Sidney Powers Memorial Trust.

The annual Iwanter Prize provides $2,000 to a graduating senior who, through a senior thesis and general academic distinction, demonstrates outstanding humanities-based scholarship of a broad and interdisciplinary nature. The prize is funded by a gift from the estate of Sidney Iwanter. Read about past winners here.